top of page
  • Spencer A

It's not rocket science.


Rocket ship in space. Credit: robert - stock.adobe.com

In each episode of the Careeriosity podcast, I'm basically just doing what career coaches call "informational interviews." An informational interview is a conversation with someone who works in an interesting job, career field, or organization in order to learn more about their skills and experiences. I hope that, by listening to these conversations, you get a little insight into possible careers that interest you.

You can do your own informational interviews! Start by identifying a person you'd like to speak to -- through social media, a personal connection, or just a Google search -- then send them an email or LinkedIn connection request:

"Hello, my name is Spencer Atkinson. Alana Diaz suggested I reach out. I will graduate this spring with a degree in English, and I am interested to learn more about your career in marketing and communications. I’m hoping to schedule a 20-minute meeting with you to seek your advice for someone who's just starting out in this field. Thank you!"

The worst that can happen is they ignore you... so what have you got to lose? And in fact, you'll be surprised how often people say yes! (Here's a hint: people love talking about themselves and giving advice.)

Stay curious, stay humble -- and trust the process.

Comentarios


bottom of page